before & after / myles' room / projects

anthropologie inspired dresser

SAM_3975

Our oldest son inherited my dear husband’s bachelor days dresser.  It was solid oak with a honey finish and very 1990’s.  I wanted to make it a bit more current and really like the look of Anthropologie’s Ordinal dresser but not the price tag ($998). 

Anthropologie Ordinal Dresser

  AnthroDresser

Before:

SAM_3972

I did my normal routine when it comes to refinishing…sanding, painting, sealing.  I first used my palm sander and some 120 grit sandpaper to remove the honey finish.  I was pleasantly surprised when the pale oak finish emerged and decided I would leave the drawers in their “natural” state.  But the top and sides had suffered some damage over the last 20 years and needed to be repaired.  I filled the cracks with wood putty, waited for it to dry, then sanded everything nice and smooth.  I didn’t bother priming the wood and went straight to paint.  After painting the top and sides I printed out some numbers in Microsoft Word, cut them out and traced them onto the drawers.  I used a small paintbrush and black craft paint to fill them in.  The whole dresser was lightly distressed before sealing it with furniture paste wax. 

SAM_3995

SAM_3981

SAM_3987

SAM_3989

SAM_3994

I’m happy to say our son really likes his new dresser and has his rock collection displayed on top.  Of course his little brother doesn’t think it’s fair his big brother has such a “cool dresser” so I’ll have to update his dresser soon too.

-Melody

Leave a Reply

