before & after / family room / projects

minty fresh table

SAM_5746

I recently found a great vintage wood table but the condition of the wood wasn’t very good.  There were multiple scratches and the varnish top looked like something had melted on it.  But I knew a little paint could fix everything.

Before:

SAM_5699

SAM_5688

SAM_5696

I lightly sanded the table with 120 grit sandpaper and applied three coats of primer to cover the reddish stain.  Sometimes dark, old varnish will bleed through so multiple coats of primer are necessary.

After primer:

SAM_5708

The table was going to go in our family room and I wanted a little color but nothing too dark.  I decided on a soft mint color.  After two coats of paint and a coat of polycrylic it looked like this.

SAM_5733

SAM_5735

And here it is in our family room.

SAM_5746SAM_5750

Thanks for looking!

-Melody

2 thoughts on “minty fresh table

  1. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a
    blog that’s both equally educative and amusing,
    and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something that too few people are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I found this during my hunt for something regarding this.

  2. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am
    impressed! Extremely useful information particularly the last part
    🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a long time.

    Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

