before & after / emma's room / projects

scallop wall border

SAM_5863

I started working on Emma’s “big girl” room this week, she’s been asking me to paint her room for months!  Her room hasn’t changed since she was born and she’s about to turn 5 so I thought it was a good time to change it up. 

We chose a pale aqua color for the walls (Benjamin Moore Quartz Stone 597).  Since her room has vaulted ceilings I thought it would be fun to add a scallop detail to the non-vaulted walls, making it look sort of like an awning.  The first thing I did was paint the top part of the wall the same white color as the ceiling. 

SAM_5828

Then I measured the width of the wall, in this case it was 168 inches. Knowing I didn’t want to mess with partial scallops, I used a calculator to determine what size scallop I needed…the magic number was 12″ and that would give me 14 total scallops. I dug through my tupperware lids until I found one that was 12” in diameter.   I put tape across the middle and added a small level so my scallops wouldn’t be wonky.

SAM_5830

I traced the outside of the lid from one tape edge to the other and then using a small brush I painted the outside of that line (sounds more tedious than it actually was).

SAM_5835

SAM_5861

After painting the scallops I rolled the aqua paint on the rest of the walls and had the whole room done in 4 hours.  The room is hard to photograph because the sun shines through the windows so much, but here’s what it looks like now.  You might also notice Emma got some new polka dot bedding, it’s really colorful and super cute.  I’ll share the rest of the projects as I complete them.

SAM_5867

SAM_5859

SAM_5865

Thanks for looking.

-Melody

2 thoughts on “scallop wall border

  1. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep
    it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. Many thanks

  2. I just like the valuable info you supply in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at again here regularly.

    I am somewhat certain I’ll be informed lots of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

