before & after / emma's room / projects

emma’s turquoise bookcase

SAM_5960

Quite some time ago I found this solid wood bookcase at one of my favorite thrift stores for $9.99.  It reminded me of the Jenny Lind style furniture with it’s turned posts and I liked how the bottom shelf was wider than the other two so we could put bigger/bulkier items down there.  But to make it a bit more playful and cute for Emma’s room it needed to be painted.  I recently brought it out to the garage and lightly sanded it and wiped it down with liquid sandpaper/deglosser since it had a heavy varnish finish.

SAM_5943

SAM_5942

After a quick coat of primer I applied two coats of Design Master Turquoise spray paint (I used two cans) and finished it with a coat of semi gloss Miniwax Polycrylic.

SAM_5947

SAM_5953

And here’s how it looks in Emma’s room (she’s using it to display her collection of legos and my little pony toys).  I love how it picks up some of the turquoise in her new duvet cover.

SAM_5967

SAM_5961

SAM_5963

SAM_5965

And a side-by-side look:

BeforeAfter

Emma’s room is starting to come together and it has been really fun getting her feedback about everything.

Thanks for looking.

-Melody

linking up to Miss Mustard Seed’s Furniture Feature Friday

http://missmustardseed.com/2014/02/furniture-feature-friday-4/

Leave a Reply

