emma's room / projects

diy pom pom curtains

SAM_4082a

When we moved into our home the previous owners left behind some pottery barn kids sheer panels in Emma’s room.  We’ve lived with them for the past five years but since we’re redoing her room, I decided to retire the sheers for some new curtains panels.  Before I could do that I needed to hang the curtain hardware higher and a bit wider than it was.  I think it looks better for the curtain rod to be higher than the frame of the window.

Anyway, after a trip to Ikea for the Ritva panels ($24.99 for a pair) and JoAnns for some lemon yellow pom pom trim ($20 for 10 yards with a coupon) I was ready to begin the project. 

First I washed and dried the panels and ironed them.  Then I measured the length I needed (89 inches) and pinned the bottom and ironed it.

SAM_6058

After that I folded back the extra fabric so the finished hem would be 2 1/2 inches and ironed it flat.

SAM_6059

I sewed the top edge of the hem on my sewing machine (I’m not a greatest sewer but can manage straight lines ok).

SAM_6062

Time for the pom pom trim!  I changed out the top thread on the sewing machine for yellow to match the pom pom trim and held it in place along the edge of the curtain panel as I sewed it. 

SAM_6064

The back of the Ritva panels have a built in header piece that you can use with their Riktig curtain hooks to give you the look of a single pinch pleat curtain.  All you do is decide how big you want your pleat and slide the hook in.

SAM_6065

Then it was finally time to hang them up.  The pop of yellow is really cheerful and a nice contrast to the blue walls.

SAM_6067

SAM_6068

Close-up of the pom pom edge.

SAM_6069

The curtains are a nice weight and since this window has plantation shutters I didn’t feel like we needed to add any blackout panels behind them.  Here’s what they look like when closed.

SAM_6071

And one more look with them opened.

SAM_6075

Thanks for looking!

-Melody

One thought on “diy pom pom curtains

  1. Pingback: 5 zelfmakers van stof voor de meidenkamer

Leave a Reply

