before & after / living room / projects / thrift shop

gray end table

BeforeAfterEndTable

I found this cute vintage wood end table at the thrift store for $19.99 but as usual it was 1/2 off day so I bought it for $10.  It had nice lines and I loved the hardware, although it was super dirty.  Can you see all the dirt?  yuck!

SAM_6078

SAM_6081

The table was very sturdy (aka heavy) and very well made, but the top had some scratches and I’m not fond of the faux wood grain finish.

SAM_6082

SAM_6084

SAM_6087

I removed the hardware and cleaned the table and drawers with clorox wipes.  I let everything dry for a few minutes and then sanded with a medium grit sandpaper.  The top had the most damage so I sanded the damaged parts until they were fairly smooth.  Here’s what it looked like after sanding. 

SAM_6094

SAM_6091

I like the way oil based paints produce a glossy and durable finish so that’s what I used for the table.  I had some smoke gray Rust-Oleum paint in the garage, it’s a nice medium/dark gray color that ended up almost matching the wall color.  When painting with oil based paint you want to load your brush up with paint and brush it on without brushing it back and forth too much, it’s self leveling…sort of like nail polish.

Here’s what it looked like after the first coat (I did two coats).

SAM_6097 

SAM_6096

While the paint dried I cleaned up the brass hardware with a little brasso and a toothbrush.  The hardware started off as almost black but polished up nicely.  I left some of the tarnish in the nooks and crannies for a little dimension.

Here’s what it looks like after two coats of paint and cleaned up hardware (in real life the gray color is a bit darker, the sunlight lightens everything in this room).

SAM_6105

SAM_6107

SAM_6114

SAM_6112

One more look at the before and after.

BeforeAfterEndTable

Thanks for looking,

Melody

linking up to miss mustard seed’s furniture feature friday

http://missmustardseed.com/2014/03/13/furniture-feature-friday-9/

One thought on “gray end table

Leave a Reply

